top of page

Paleo Birthday Cake


Paleo Birthday Cake

IT'S MY BIRTHDAY!

Don't you just love birthdays? A day that is all about celebrating YOU! isn't it just awesome? I love my birthdays. I love the celebrations, I love the presents, and of course- I love the cake!

But since I am still trying to stay healthy, even on my birthday, I decided to at least make an attempt in creating a birthday cake that is not completely sugary and bad. And I must say- it is amazing how sinful you feel when eating this cake, when in fact you shouldn't feel sinful at all.

I can't say this cake is the healthiest thing on the planet, and it is probably a good thing that you celebrate your birthday just once a year. But compared to a regular birthday cake- this one is 100 times better for you. It is flourless, refined sugar free, gluten free and absolutely awesome. The cake itself is also dairy free. I used heavy cream for the frosting, but you can easily replace is with coconut whipped cream if you can't consume dairy.

Paleo Birthday Cake

I used three 8 inch cake pans for the cake layers. you can also do it with just two.

Ingredients:

For the cake-

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup almond flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

pinch of slat

1 tsp baking soda

8 large eggs

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1 tsp almond extract (optional, but very recommended)

For the frosting-

1 cup dark chocolate chips

1 tbsp coconut oil

2 cups heavy cream

Instructions:

*Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

1. Pulse together dry ingredients in a food processor.

2. Pulse in wet ingredients.

3. Grease three 8 inch springform pans with butter or coconut oil, and pour the batter into the pans.

4. Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. If using only 2 pans you might have to bake 5-10 more minutes.

5. Let it cool.

6. For the frosting- heat up the chocolate and coconut in a small bowl in the microwave (use pulses of 30 seconds and mix. that way the chocolate will not burn). In a large bowl, whip the heavy cream half way with a hand mixer or in a standing mixer. Add the melted chocolate and keep whipping until firm.

7. Build your birthday cake!

Have a wonderful happy birthday!

Paleo Birthday Cake

bottom of page